PDA

View Full Version : Bamboo Shark....

Ticketyboo
04-12-2007, 01:58 AM
Does anyone have any experience with this type of fish? i got one yesterday and its a pretty little blighter, about 7 inches or so and i was advised by my LFS that they had it for 3 days and it had not eaten yet.

I took it home, drip aclimitised it and left the blue leds on...... this morning, it was a happy little bunny and was doing a marathon around the tank and ate some krill... however didnt eat that much, but at least its eating...

So my questions is, does anyone else have one? and if they do, what are you guys feeding them?

justinl
04-12-2007, 02:02 AM
sweeet! my question to you is: where are the pics?!

okay i have no personal experience with sharks but from what i hear, they need a large tank. like 400 gallons or something. Some never learn to eat frozen food and must survive on live food. it's a good sign it ate krill though. try feeding some more in a 2-3 of days. they do NOT need to be fed daily. at most three times a week, but it seems twice a week may work better.

again this isn't my advise, just what ive picked up along the way.

Ticketyboo
04-12-2007, 02:18 AM
ok just for you justin, i took some pics.... what is it about fish that just wont stay still when they are getting their pics taken????

Scuse the scratches on the screen.... but its an acrylic 180 and i have not gotten round to buffeting the scratches out yet and its only the bottom part as the previous owner had large stones in there.....

justinl
04-12-2007, 02:31 AM
niiiiiice. you've got quite the beaut there. 180 is going to be quite small for it. You will very likely want to start looking for a large upgrade.

check out some info here...
http://www.grimreefers.com/forums/index.php?showforum=17

Ticketyboo
04-12-2007, 03:00 AM
justin justin justin justin ...... this is part of my cunning plan.......