PDA

View Full Version : PVC Flex Tubing

digital-audiophile
04-10-2007, 10:26 PM
What kind of flex tubing do you use for your sump pump return. I was looking at this clear braided PVC tubing at the home depot but noticed it says it is for low pressure applications. Is this acceptable or is there a better kind to use?

Thanks!

shotzee
04-10-2007, 10:34 PM
I use the stuff they use for pools and hot tubs. If you stop by a hot tub shop they will carry what you need.

Scavenger
04-10-2007, 10:39 PM
I'm no expert by any means, but I'm assuming by "low pressure applications" that it means you wouldn't have any valve or restrictors (ie tap faucet, ball valve) to impede the flow.

I know our pumps can put out high volumes, but if it's not restricted in any way, how high is the pressure? Perhaps your tubing would work.

Think of the way a coiled garden hose reacts with water flowing through it, and then put a spray nozzle on the end and observe the same.

It might be worth the experiment, then again, that's just me.

shotzee
04-10-2007, 10:42 PM
Is that clear piping at HD actually PVC or is it something else because that might complicate any connections you want to make (assuming you plan on using PVC glue). Why do you want clear pipe anyways, I hate it becuase its vulnerable to algae growth.

digital-audiophile
04-11-2007, 12:54 AM
It's doesn't have to be clear at all, I'm just trying to figure out the right flex piping I need for my return. I'm new to this whole plumbing thing :p

MikeP
04-11-2007, 01:01 AM
I'm learning about plumbing too. Talk to Albert at Golds, he should be able to sell you everything. I'm stopping by there tomorrow to pick up the stuff I need.

Snowmaker
04-11-2007, 01:03 AM
Just use the tried and true hard piping (schedual 40 - pressure piping) so easy to cut and glue. Also very cheap at home depot

TRIX
04-11-2007, 01:56 AM