PDA

View Full Version : Help with 1 week old 10g nano

Nixon
03-13-2007, 04:15 AM
Hey guys, I'm really new to this hobby so I was wondering if i could get any help with signs of an unhealthy tank as well as common pests or things I should look out for. Here are somet things that concerned me but I'm not even sure if I should be worried. If you guys could ID these things and let me know if they're good/bad/ok and if they're bad, what I could get to help it.

I'm currently running a 10g with a rio nano skimmer, maxijet900 powerhead, 50W heater, about 15-20 lbs of live rock, 2 hitch hiker snails (no idea what kind), 2 small starfish (also hitchikers off the LR) and a mystery hermit crab. I also have these little shrimp looking things (very small maybe 2-3mm in lengh some red some clear) that I couldn't get pics of but here are some pics of the others.

http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u90/nanotank/DSC00105.jpg
Crabby
http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u90/nanotank/DSC00101.jpg
http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u90/nanotank/DSC00108.jpg
Starfish
http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u90/nanotank/DSC00110.jpg
http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u90/nanotank/DSC00125.jpg
http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u90/nanotank/DSC00123.jpg
Wierd clump of sand or something with sand stuck on it...
http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u90/nanotank/DSC00122.jpg
http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u90/nanotank/DSC00121.jpg
What are those yellow tubes with the 2 "anntenas"?

I really appreciate the help guys and gals!

---
Nixon

Der_Iron_Chef
03-13-2007, 04:40 AM
The hermit crabs should be fine. The organisms in the last few pictures look like some sort of worm (like a Spionid worm) and are reef-safe. The "shrimp looking things" sound like amphipods and/or copepods, though hard to say without a photo. They are also reef-safe.

Hitchhiker starfish can be bothersome, but I'm no expert on starfish, so I'll leave that to someone else who actually knows something :wink:

X-Treme