PDA

View Full Version : workhorse ballasts and T5's

AndyL
02-26-2007, 06:12 AM
Looking for something more than the typical "well i read on RC"...

Anyone know / have literature as to why fulham workhorse ballasts burn out T5's faster than a triad / icecap ballast? And specifically, how much is the life expectancy reduced?

Googled my arse off tonight, and I'm starting to think it's one of those internet myths - as I can't find anything backing up the claim - but everyone seems to repeat it.

Delphinus
02-26-2007, 04:57 PM
Well, I read on RC .... just kidding. But what I have to offer may not be all that more useful anyhow because it's based on what I've heard over the years, RC or whatever. But since it beats real work, I'm typing this in anyhow. The difference between NO and HO and VHO is the amperage the current is carried over (bear in mind I am not an electrician and am not trying to be, so for you electricians out there getting a facial tick reading my statement, sorry about the facial tick, go get a coffee or something :) ). And anyhow, a Fulham ballast, I thought did output at the VHO amperage whereas the Icecap ballast outputs more at the HO amperage. I know that there are all kinds of other differences like frequencies and whatnot, but that is what I would guess is something to do with the T5's lasting longer. Icecap's claim to fame all along has been that lamps last longer on their ballasts (halides or fluorescents) and it seems to me that they generally seem to acheive this by underdriving lamps, but tweaking things like frequencies so that the output lux are "close enough."

albert_dao
02-26-2007, 05:57 PM
Which Icecap ballasts are we talking about here?

KrazyKuch
02-26-2007, 10:34 PM
Basically the work hoarse Ballast would Over Drive a T-5 thus making it burn out faster....How much faster I really don't know....Seems like an experiment to me!!!

midgetwaiter
02-26-2007, 11:01 PM