PDA

View Full Version : Moving a reef tank...

fishbait
02-13-2007, 02:33 AM
Hello, I came across this great deal for a complete 72 gallon reeftank setup from a guy who no longer has time to keep his tank running. I am new to this, and though I realize this is going to be a bit of work, I want to start this off on the best foot possible and try to minimize the screwing around that I imagine can be associated with moving someone else's setup.

Do any of you have experience moving tanks and getting them running again? I haven't seen what he has inside it yet, and if its not really what we want, our other option is to try to give the LR and fish away and start clean with the stuff that we want to see in there.

As far as I know so far, it is a 72 gallon tank w/stand, lighting, sump, overflow, skimmer & approx 100 lbs of live rock with a few clown fish.

I would appreciate any and all suggestions/advice etc.

Thanks!

niloc16
02-13-2007, 02:53 AM
i would suggest doing alot of research before you jump into it too quickly.

Tangman
02-13-2007, 04:03 AM
First , where are you located ?
second , have you already bought this set up ? and if you have Don't throw out or give away the live rock it is the MOST valuable part of getting a established complete system.
And as niloc16 said do some research first !
I suggest a book " THE REEF AQUARIUM " volume three by J. Charles Delbeek and Julian Sprung.
And also welcome to the reef keeping hobby

fishbait
02-13-2007, 04:51 AM
I'm in Abbotsford... the tank we're interested in is in Surrey...

No, we have not bought anything yet, and yes we have been researching the subject for the few weeks or so (not to mention saving for a year or so =).

I'm especially interested if any of you have experience moving tanks, ie how much of the original water to keep, things like that. Was there anything you've done in the past that worked really well, or conversely which worked really bad that you wouldn't do again??

Thanks!

SeaHorse_Fanatic