PDA

View Full Version : Donation to Douglas College

Chad
01-26-2007, 08:08 PM
Hi everyone,

I am helping Douglas College set up a Reef aquarium for their Biology Lab. Currently I am donating a 20gal tank w/ Lights, LR and some initial Softies, like mushrooms, leathers etc.

However, I do not have a heater or few circulation pumps, like a Maxi jet etc. Also, need some sand or similar substrate for them to use.

If anyone might be interested in donating something that you think might be useful for them, please send me a PM.

I don't imagine we would get any recognition BTW. This is just out of pure kindness I am putting this together for them, and I think it would be cool for their marine biology students. * FYI, I am a biology student at Douglas college atm *

Thanks for any help you can provide.
Best Regards

Chad

Chad
01-28-2007, 12:02 AM
Wow, you mean no one has anything they are willing to give up to a worthy institution that educates the leaders and thinkers of our future? hmmm.

Canadbis
01-28-2007, 12:59 AM
I would Chad but you live to far away.
GL to you

BCOrchidGuy
01-28-2007, 03:49 AM
Chad, I'll donate a heater, and maybe a powerhead if I can. What size heater do you want?

Doug

psuedo
01-28-2007, 05:03 AM
I am suprised that there is no monies available through the college for something like this. I know that there is a marine biology class that is a 5.5 credit course offered there, and I am sure that if you were to prepare a document and present it to the dean stating why this would possibly help any students in this course he would be more than willing to entertain your ideas and give you another avenue to possibly fund this tank.

You would have to explain that during all this process all the students would be able to see any chemical changes in the tank and how different fish and invertebrates react to these changes( I am not saying that you would subject any animals to bad conditions) first hand, and be able to document them.

Just an idea...