PDA

View Full Version : DIY plans for Coil Denitrator

howdy20012002
01-16-2007, 12:20 PM
I actually built a coil denitrator out of parts I got from home depot.
I will post pics and details today.
thanks
Neal

howdy20012002
01-16-2007, 05:26 PM
As I understand it, the concept behind a Coil Denitrator is a simple one.
Basically, as the water travels through the coiled air hose, it loses the oxygen content within it. This unoxygenated water and environment allows for bacteria, which just happens to have an appetite for nitrates, to grow in the container(in about 4 - 6 weeks). Thus, as the water travels through the media where the bacteria is, it loses the nitrate content and then exits back into the tank nitrate free or at least with a lowered nitrate content. it can take a few times for the water to go through the denitrator to lose all nitrates.
if anyone wants to add anything or correct anything please do.
I am far from an expert in this matter.

howdy20012002
01-16-2007, 05:49 PM
the material needed:
1 - 3 foot piece of 3 inch black pvc
1 - 3 inch cap
1 - 3 inch to 4 inch toilet flange
3 - 25 foot 1/4 inch airline ( i used a the more rigid type)
4 - 1/4 inch quick connect union
1 - 1/4 inch shut off valve
1 - 1/4 inch quick connect valve
material for growing bacteria - (bio balls and ceramic rings)
1 - 4 foot piece of 1.5 inch pvc
duct tape
pvc glue
teflon tape.

howdy20012002
01-16-2007, 05:50 PM
Part 1.
The most difficult part of this project is to drill and thread the pvc cap for the 1/4 inch valves.
You will need the appropriate tap and die set (or talk really nicely to someone that does) to thread the holes on the cap.
After you have drilled and threaded the holes, you then put teflon tape on the threaded ends of the quick connect valves and tighten them into the drilled holes.
Unlike shown in the picture, have the 1/4 valve (the one without the blue shutoff valve) on the inside of the cap, not on the outside.

A couple of things,