PDA

View Full Version : What is the best way to change tanks?

Borderjumper
01-15-2007, 09:29 PM
We have a 33 gallon reef tank. Its stocked with quite a few corals and some firefish. We are thinking about switching everything over to a 50 gallon tank. Not really to go bigger, just a better made tank. Whats the best way to do this, that will be easier on the livestock?

I have never done this before, but what I was thinking of doing is

1. place the new tank, then add new sand( I think I read somewhere that using the old sand will cause alot of death in the live stuff in the sand, and shouldnt be done?).
2. Put all the corals in a holding tank.
3. move live rock from old tank to new tank
4.syphen existing water from the old tank into the new tank
5.top off new tank with "new" seasoned saltwater
6.put in existing powerheads, heater, and skimmer from old tank
7.add corals and fish

The thing about not using the old sand cause it will stir up too much and bury alot of "good live stuff" doesnt much make sense to me... when you start a new tank with the store bought bags of "live" sand.. doesnt some get buried too? The existing tank is only 4-5 months old.. so the sand is not like really grungy. I know it will take some hours to settle after switching tanks.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance, Shelley

Edmonton Eskimo
01-15-2007, 09:37 PM
sounds like a perfect plan to me! You are correct about the sand. I used my old sand once and let's just say I'll never do that again. You can save the old sand though and keep it in a bucket for a while until everything dies and then thoroughly wash it. If you do the switchover quickly then there shouldn't be any problems. Make sure when you siphon the water from your old tank you don't get any crud in it.

Beverly
01-15-2007, 09:45 PM
If I were you, I'd consider setting up the new tank without substrate and go bare bottom (BB). For more information on BB tanks, do a search. There are a number of threads on the topic.