PDA

View Full Version : asm skimmer

fishguyxd
01-12-2007, 02:04 AM
Hey i am new to the skimmers here I have an insump G2 model (plug and play they say.) I have read the links and it all over the place.

Is there any special place I should be placing this unit in the sump or any thing I should do prior to install ?( the So how do I adjust etc this thing by the adjustable pipe (sorry if these are goofy ?'s just want to get it right) I have not pluged any thing in yet(pump)

mark
01-12-2007, 03:31 AM
I've got the G3, did the recir and gate valve mods but don't think they're really that necessary, as had good performance prior.

Main thing is you want the water level constant so place in the sump section where water level doesn't vary (not pump side).

For the G3 seen something like the water level be about 10-12" up the body of the skimmer, imagine similiar for G2.

For adjustment you raise or lower the pipe so the bubbles are midway up the cup. As the unit starts to pull stuff out of the water the bubbles will start to rise higher up the cup. If skimmate too light, lower the pipe a slight bit (1/4"). Not getting skimmate raise it, again found sensitive so small adjustments.

Don't be surprised if the unit takes a day of two to start producing.

fishguyxd
01-13-2007, 12:54 AM
thanks for your info.
I also went to asm site.

vanreefer
01-13-2007, 01:35 AM
To cut down on the time it takes to break it in as well as get all the oils etc out of the skimmer body/pump fill your bath tub or rubermaid tub with warm fresh water and let it run in ther for 12-24 hours the fire it in the sump... I seem to remember 10" of water was recomended for my G4X

I love my skimmer... all I have done is the gate valve mod,... super easy and improved the performance IMHO

Enjoy
Dan

Reefhawk1
01-13-2007, 01:38 AM
Have a G3 skimmer myself and it works awesome. I need to install the mod still but the performance out of the box is great.

fishguyxd
01-14-2007, 02:48 AM