PDA

View Full Version : Anything at all about corals

justinl
12-16-2006, 08:32 PM
Hey Im new to the hobby and don't yet plan on a reef system but was wondering anyways. Always good to know. So how do you take care of these things? Do you have to add anything to the water (nutrients, additives, whatever)? Lighting? what are your fave corals? What about their biology (frags, lifecycle, other interesting tidbits)?

I also keep hearing people say that they get most of their nutrients from photosynthesis and the rest from the water column. What?! From what Ive learned in biology, photosynthesis provides nothing but energy... right?

PS. damn. I almost had all the letters in the title start with "a"

justin

windeindoiel
12-16-2006, 08:58 PM
Bacteria in their tissues photosynthesize then share the energy they make with the coral in exchange for being protected within the corals tissues. This all means corals need very good light, actinics and halides, which means lotsa money on lighting. It's worth it though.

Mmm in my house I don't take care of the additives, so I'll leave that up to someone else to explain in more detail.

Anyways my favorites are probably pulsing xenia and star polyps.

Der_Iron_Chef
12-16-2006, 10:22 PM
It really depends. You don't *need* metal halide lighting if you only want to keep a variety of certain soft corals and LPS (Large Polyp Stony) corals. I have five corals under Power Compact lighting, and they are doing very well!

It's really necessary to research the individual coral, finding out what lighting/water flow/additives it needs.

I think the worst mistake, with regards to keeping corals, is the impulse buy!! It pays to know what, exactly, you're bringing home....

Bob I
12-16-2006, 10:24 PM