PDA

View Full Version : starting a nano, what do I need to know?

windeindoiel
12-04-2006, 08:24 PM
Ok so I *think* it's a oceanic bio cube that we're going to get, the 29 gal.

On the ad I found in a magazine it says it has a 36 watt 10,000k and a 36 watt true actinic 03, as well as moon LED lights. Will that be enough to keep coral in? So far I was thinking star polyps and fuzzy mushrooms, maybe some sun coral. Any other recommendations? Also will a bubble tip anemone be ok in that lighting?

Will I need to buy additional powerheads to keep a decent amount of flow in there? How many?

For stocking I would like a couple horseshoe crabs (I know how big they get), some skunk shrimp, some little brittle stars, maybe some fire shrimp, and 2 of the smaller species of clownfish (don't know what yet) if the anemone will be ok in there.

And is there anything else I'm missing here? This is my first time setting up a salt tank so I don't really know what I'm doing.

JSTR
12-04-2006, 08:40 PM
Well to start off, nano's are not always the best first tank.
But aside from that, here is my opinion on your questions.

The stock lighting in the biocube nanos are good enough for the mushroom and star polyps. The anemone is not a good candidate for nanos, lighting isn't strong enough and there isn't reaqlly enough water volume to keep one happy. No comment on sun corals - never kept them.

Horseshoe crabs are best left in the ocean, they get quite big and are difficult to keep (so I hear). A pair of clownfish is fine, couple of shrimp are ok, either cleaners or fire shrimp. Careful mixing types of shrimp as they don't always get along in those smaller tanks (territory issues).

Flow is entirely up to you discression. Can't remember of hand the stock flow, but for a small mixed reef, one would recommend 20 - 30 times water volume. Something like the Tunze nano stream or SEIO 620-820 would be plenty.