PDA

View Full Version : ideal nano size

naesco
10-22-2002, 02:30 AM
So I see there is a limit of fifteen. Those of you who have had a nano for some time what would you advise the ideal nano to be?

Doing it again would you go for a larger size?

Notwithstanding the limit would you think that twenty might be an ideal size?

How many tangs do you think I could keep in my nano? :wink:

AJ_77
10-22-2002, 04:08 AM
Those on other nano-type boards/forums seem to set 20g as the upper spec limit for these tanks, with a 3-tang maximum. :wink: If I didn't have a 15 tall, I would DEFINITELY want a 20 gallon. I just took down a 10g nano tonight to make room for a bigger tank. There just isn't enought volume in a ten, IMHO and IME.

I really like the 15 tall though. It looks amazing where the TV used to be, and has a similar "screen size." The vertical aquascaping options and challenges are stimulating and rewarding.

Of course, remember I'm still fairly new at all of this - I'm easily impressed. Best times are sitting with my 9-yr-old, faces pinned to the glass. :D

Cheers,

Aj :)

Delphinus
10-22-2002, 05:46 AM
I really like my 20g (well, sometimes, anyways .... the times I don't like it, it's not the size that bothers me, but the way that I've set it up that bothers me -- I've learned so much since the time I set that thing up ... I really didn't know what I was doing). The dimensions of a 20g give several options. It is also, IMO, an ideal footprint size to be lit by a single metal halide bulb.

That said, I don't know if a 20g really qualifies as a "nano." "Mini" maybe ... but not really "nano."

I'd love to try doing some kind of reef with an unused 5g that I have sitting around. The problem is, most things that I have an interest in, tend to get large, and it wouldn't take too long to overcrowd a 5g. I don't even know what kind of fish I could keep in that thing. Juvenile fish maybe ... but it seems to me most things would outgrow it in a matter of months?

EmilyB