PDA

View Full Version : Lighting calculations

daddy01
11-22-2006, 03:44 PM
Hi,
I'm new to reefing and saltwater in general. My question is in realtion to the lighting for soft corals and mushrooms in general.
Everything I've read either specifies X watts per gallon, now I have currently a aqualight rated at 65Watt Daylight and 65Watt Actnic, totaling 130Watts, so at 5Watts per gallon that supposrts a 25Gal aquarium right?
does the type of bulb whether Actnic Blue or Daylight white come into play?
Am I making myself clear?
Jim

Joe Reefer
11-22-2006, 04:33 PM
Lighting a reef isn't as simple as watts/gallon. Here (http://216.187.96.54/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=22044) are some links for you, hope this helps.

Synthesis
11-22-2006, 05:41 PM
Calculation it in respect to watts/gal is a common mistake. It should be measured by intensity of the light being provided. Obviously we all know that placement of coral dictates the success of the it. This is because of intensity. SPS and LPS generally have to be high in the tank and almost strictly require Metal Halide bulbs. You can put them lower in the tank depending on the intensity of the bulb.

Soft corals such as zoos and mushrooms dont generally do well placed high in the tank and exposed to intense lighting. FOR PC and CF, the higher you place the corals the better as the intensity is not the same as MH.

I would read the link provided in the post above to help back up my statements. Lighting is a little more complex them most realize. Each tank is different and each coral has different needs. Sometimes they want alot of light and sometimes they dont. Trial and error is sometimes the only way to figure things out in this hobby.

daddy01
11-22-2006, 06:12 PM
Well I went to the links one is broken, the others are beyond my comprehension...I left more confused than ever and none answered my question.
On other forum the general rule is x Watts per gallon and I emphasize general,