PDA

View Full Version : Importanceof center bracing...

fortheloveofcrabs
11-06-2006, 10:43 PM
Hey,

Perhaps this is stupid... but... I'm gonna ask anyways... I have a Hagen 55gal tank that has a center brace. Well, I'm cheap and I wanna buy that 1 X MH 36" Coralife light strip. Well, it only has one MH bulb in it, and with a center brace it will look silly. What will happen if I cut off that center brace? SPLASH!! Or will I be okay? Is there a way I can some how replace that with a glass one without draining my tank?

Thanks!!

Pan
11-06-2006, 11:01 PM
If you remove the center brace the tank will bow, the structural integrity is compromised and something will happen, though not always as quick as you'd think. I had a buddy that used one with the center brace remoed for two years, i told him not to, eventually it cracked and ruined his wifes new floor. I think best bet would be to drain and fix. I have no experience fixing them though so if anyone else knows.

SeaHorse_Fanatic
11-07-2006, 02:09 AM
For new tanks, cutting the center brace voids the warranty, but I think the warranty is only for 90 days or so. I've cut mine on 3' 65g & it is much brighter now that the plastic brace does not block out most of the MH light. I have not noticed any bowing. I have a 6' 110g that came without any bracing & it's doing fine all these years. Knock on wood.

Anthony

benjamin
11-07-2006, 02:52 AM
If you get ride of the center brace you could make a glass euro brace that goes around the tank. I think that would help

Dale
11-07-2006, 02:57 AM
I myself wouldn't trust a tank built with a center brace that had it removed. It might not break right away or ever but the glass will be under a constant stress load and bumping it or hitting it just right might put it over the edge. Time for some risk assessment!