PDA

View Full Version : Zoos vs. Paly's

X-Treme
11-06-2006, 02:15 AM
PLEASE keep in mind that I am VERY new to s/w, so try not to flame to bad. My questions is this: What is the difference between zoos and paly's? They look the same to me. Help me out here.

RicePaddy
11-06-2006, 02:22 AM
I was wondering the same thing? So that make two of us.

Will

Johnny Reefer
11-06-2006, 02:52 AM
Palythoa is a Genus of the Family Zoanthid.
Therefore, it is my understanding that, Palys are zoos.

Cheers,

howdy20012002
11-06-2006, 03:19 AM
palys are a generally bigger form of zoos I believe.

FragFactory
11-06-2006, 03:20 AM
They are the same species..

Palys are usually bigger polyps and stems, and when closed have a visualized line through the polyp, while zoos when closed do not, and are smooth.

Palys usually also have a more pronounced mouth, then do zoos, and I find the palys come in more intricate colours, with many multi coloured morphs out there.

Mike

Der_Iron_Chef
11-06-2006, 03:24 AM
I was wondering, too--thanks for asking!

Farrmanchu
11-06-2006, 11:58 AM
Palys draw sediment into thier tissues to make them more ridgid. That's why you'll see white specks in the stalk, and white lines in the disk sometimes. They also have a strong feeding response, they close quickly over food. Many don't seem to share a common "matt" with the others in the colony, growing in small groups making up a colony.

The other Zoas, short dense ones, feed more on detrius and dissolved nutrients. They don't have the same feeding response, and have no sediment in the tissues. They share a common "matt" and are all attached as a colony.

All are part of the Zoanthus group.

Murminator
11-06-2006, 03:22 PM
The "matt" thing is correct zoo's share a matt which they all grow up from paly are individual poylps and are generally larger

Jaws
12-01-2006, 03:58 PM
From what I understand, zoos can pack quite a sting. Are palys any different?

Matt
12-01-2006, 08:47 PM