PDA

View Full Version : 55g sump design need advice...

MikeP
10-18-2006, 07:26 PM
If this works you should see a sump I came up with on google sketch it. It's a 55g tank, I don't know the dimensions of the tank cause I have not picked it up yet. It should be 48" long though and 18" high I think. I figured I would divide the tank into three equal parts. Water enters from the overflow into the far left of the sump goes over a baffle and into the fuge in the center. Then through the other three baffles (thats a bubble trap right?) and into the chamber on the right out the bulkhead to the pump and back to the tank. Does this sound right? I need to know how big the baffles should be and how far apart to space them for the bubble trap. I think the skimmer should go in the last chamber on the right? And as far as the first chamber just some bio balls? Don't leave out any details in your input/criticism I have never done this before so all info is helpful.

Tanks a lot

Flusher
10-18-2006, 09:12 PM
Looks good. Here's my input:

Make the first, second, and fourth baffles lower (from the left; the baffles coming up from the bottom). Sumps usually run only at about half full. The sump would have to be almost full for the water to make it over the baffles.

Make the first and last chambers smaller so you can have a bigger refugium. Put the skimmer in the first compartment.

The baffles are to reduce bubbles from the skimmer moreso than the incoming water, IME, so there's no sense putting the skimmer after all the baffles. If you put the skimmer in the left-most compartment, put three baffles like those dividing the middle and right compartments.

The baffles should be fairly close together, maybe 1/2" to 1". (I could be wrong. Get a second opinion. :mrgreen: )

Forget the bioballs. Most people, from what I've gathered, consider them to be a nitrate trap in a reef tank.

HTH
________