PDA

View Full Version : Edmonton Tap Water Quality

marcingo
10-15-2006, 05:36 AM
Just thought I would bring this point up and see if anyone else has noticed this. So I started my tank 2 months ago and my ammonia levels have not fallen below 0.25 until today where it is 0. Then I decided to randomly check the water I was preparing for a water change and I couldn't believe it. The tester read between 0.5 and 0.75. I've been doing freshwater for 2 years before this and always used tap water and never had a problem with it. Could this high ammonia reading be some temporary drop in city tap water? I also forgot to mention that I also checked the tap water without any declorinator or salt thinking either one may be a problem causing the ammonia reading but I still got 0.5 to 0.75. I guess the point of this post is to see if anyone else has found a similar problem with tap water or if its just my pipes.

If I should stop using the tap water what do you guys recommend should I just use bottled water?

Keen
10-15-2006, 05:41 AM
I use the jugs of water you can fill at the local supermarket. they tend to work quite well, and you dont need to worry about adding chemicals to it, since there is no chlorine.

marcingo
10-15-2006, 05:49 AM
But then I probably need to add Calcium and other essential elements. Correct?

kellehar
10-15-2006, 06:40 AM
you can buy kits to measure the ppm of calcium in your water and also you should replenish your trace elements as it used by your corals and inverts.

Beverly
10-15-2006, 04:03 PM
Edmonton tapwater is treated with chloramine, which is a compound consisting of ammonia and chlorine. Depending on your test kit, you can measure about 1 ppm ammonia from local tapwater.

Many dechlorinators, like Prime and Amquel, are designed to deal with chloramine. They neutralize the chlorine and turn the ammonia into non-toxic ammonium. Again, depending on the test kit, you can measure the treated tapwater for ammonium.