PDA

View Full Version : Converting to FOWLR

iandehombre
09-28-2006, 07:35 PM
Currently I am keeping corals and some reefsafe fish in a 90 gal, I wanted to conver it to FOWLR. Is FOWLR easy to maintain? because right now I have to change water every week. I have a HOB skimmer and HOB CPR Aquafuge, few powerhead, what other equiptment should I get?

Thanks

Joe Reefer
09-28-2006, 07:43 PM
Want kind fish are you planning on keeping, FO tanks tend to have high bioloads. I would try and upgrade your skimmer, the only problem is you are probably going to need to get a sump setup. IMHO

iandehombre
09-28-2006, 07:56 PM
I probably only keep three fishes. I already have one big rabit fish, med yellow tang and I was thinking about getting a lionfish. Are lion fish expensive and hard to keep?

Joe Reefer
09-28-2006, 09:51 PM
I am no lion expert, but from what I have read they are real messy eaters.

Raf
09-29-2006, 04:55 AM
I have a lionfish tank:

http://www.malawimayhem.com/gallery.php?id=134
http://www.malawimayhem.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=7491&highlight=lionfish

As far as keeping them, they are not messy eaters as they generally swallow their food whole. As some species get fairly large, they can be a big bioload on your tank, so a good skimmer and filter are important, as are large waterchanges to keep nitrAtes low.

But, IMO, they are one of the hardiest and easiest fish to keep, so if you want that, they are a good choice.

goby1
09-30-2006, 02:54 PM