PDA

View Full Version : Which skimmer for my 190g?

MikeP
09-07-2006, 05:33 AM
I'm in research mode for a skimmer for my 190g. I would like recomendations including models and prices if possible. I'm still a newbie so please include any info you think is helpful. I'm not made of money but I also don't want to buy junk.

Thanks for any replies

PS I will consider buying used as well

SeaHorse_Fanatic
09-07-2006, 06:07 AM
I, TomR & several other reefers have been using the ASM line of skimmers & are very happy with them. An ASM G3 would do for your size tank, unless its gonna be heavily stocked then you might want to upgrade to a bigger model.

Euroreefs are also very highly regarded, just pricier. ASM is better bang for the buck, IMO.

Anthony

albert_dao
09-07-2006, 06:20 AM
EuroReef RS series is actually the same price as the ASM's. Some of the models are even cheaper by a couple bucks.

Johnny Reefer
09-07-2006, 06:33 AM
EuroReef RS series is actually the same price as the ASM's. Some of the models are even cheaper by a couple bucks.
Haha....beat me by that much. - Max Smart.

Yes, the EuroReefs have come down in price. Not almost double the cost of an ASM anymore, like they once were.

Check it out:
http://www.jlaquatics.com/phpstore/store_pages/details/skimmers.php?product_ID=ps-errs250

Cheers:smile:,

fkshiu
09-07-2006, 08:37 PM
The Euroreef has three lines of skimmers: RS, CS and RC (in ascending price).

To my understanding, they are all the same basic needle-wheel design of which ASM (and others) are clones of.

The difference is construction and pumps and recirculation options.

The RS series is made of cheaper plastic and has cheaper construction (I think exactly the same as the ASMs) than the CS series. Essentially, the RS series is a clone of the ASM cloning of the CS series!

The RC series is built like the CS series and adds re-circulation.