PDA

View Full Version : Help with frags, about to lose Capnella. Put them in too early.

kwirky
07-11-2006, 04:04 AM
Common noob mistake made.

It's a bit of an impatience mistake too. I cycled my liverock, everything was testing 0, so I went to the LFS (Gold's) to ask whether I should turn the lights on or not. Albert there said the liverock's cycled now, and suggested I get some frags of easy to look after, photosynthetic corals. I got Capnella, Sarcophytoa (Toadstool), and Echinophyllia. He just said don't feed them for a month because they're photosynthetic.

My water paramaters have been great, but now the diatoms are showing up, and I'm wishing I never got those frags so early. Hair algae's starting to show up a little bit too. I tested my water (aquarium pharmeceuticals) and ammonia was 0, nitrite was 0, and nitrate was hard to tell if it was 5ppm or 0ppm (I'm an artist myself, and I find most colour charts for test kits horrible due to printing processes. It's like "wth? It's NONE of these colours! lol). I tested RO water, and it was hard to tell if it was 0 or 5ppm of nitrate too lol.

Now the problem is the scar tissue area of the frags are starting to get algae on them. Daily, I've been blowing them off lightly with a baster. The Capnella is really showing stress and it's deteriorating at it's scar tissue.

http://www.esopenko.com/images/aquarium/nano/capnellastressed.jpg
you can notice at the base it's turning white. The one branch is hanging by a tiny bit, and one little branch has fallen off already.

I've got two frags of Sarcophytoa. This one's doing quite well against the algae, but it's polyp tips aren't coming out.
http://www.esopenko.com/images/aquarium/nano/sarcophytoa01.jpg

the second Sarcophytoa is not doing as well. It's base tissue, where it was cut, has diatoms on it, and there's few strands of hair algae on it.
http://www.esopenko.com/images/aquarium/nano/sarcophytoa02.jpg