PDA

View Full Version : Reef Karma?

midgetwaiter
06-26-2006, 10:06 AM
Anyone else ever have the feeling that the reef gods do their best to keep you humble? like they give with one hand and take with the other?

I had a couple big wins the past week or so. A sun Coral I have been coaxing to open up for 4 months has finally come around, I'm very happy. Of course now it's BTA tank mate will not stay in one spot longer than 20 minutes. I'll get him settled soon I hope but man that is frustrating.

My other reef tank has been doing very well considering it's only been up for 3 months. The system is working sweet, livestock is happy, great growth on some of the corals with the mix I have packed into a small tank. I managed to find a 75 watt halogen Bulb (Philips Daylight) at HD that grows chaeto like crazy for under 10$. I even got rid of all my evil hermit crabs. All is well right? Nope. One day my open brain stops inflating during the day, I figured the clown was trying to host in it again. Couple days later my clam stops extending it's mantle, now I'm worried. I check the water out, it's good. While I am sitting there trying to figure out what is going on my baby hippo tang comes to the front of the tank and looks at me. He then turns, takes a bite out of the brain coral, swims over to the clam, hits it a couple times and then hides behind a rock. My blue tang is eating my clam, wtf?

I try and catch the little bugger for 2 days, can't do it. I rip the whole tank down and finally get him, then drop a T5 strip in the water. As I'm putting everything back in I mash a ricordia with a dropped rock... Why can't I go a whole week without a reef catastrophe?

Delphinus
06-26-2006, 07:33 PM