PDA

View Full Version : Getting started

MikeP
06-19-2006, 01:35 AM
Hi everyone, I'm just getting into a marine tank. To start out I have a 30 gal tank. I was told by several stores here in Calgary that all I need to get going is the salt and some crushed coral. I bought that stuff and set the tank up. I'm still trying to get the salt mixture just right, its at about 1.026. The next thing I was told to do to get the cycle going was to buy a cured live rock. I stopped at golds today and got a 4 pounder. He said that the 1.026 would be ok for the rock but I will get it between 1.024 and 1.020 ASAP. One thing that golds told me was not to have any crushed coral, but four other shops told me that was ok for a new tank. So who is right? I'd rather not have to take crushed coral out (and kiss that 30 bucks good bye that it cost me). Also when can I add fish? And whats a good type to start out with? Is there anything else I should know?

Also I'm running a aquaclear 300 filter with foam and bio sphears for the media. No protein skimmer yet but I was also told one is not a must have for a tank my size.

Thanks for any help.

prosnow
06-19-2006, 01:58 AM
First off, welcome to canreef

One thing that golds told me was not to have any crushed coral, but four other shops told me that was ok for a new tank. So who is right?

its alot easier to clean up detrius and what not when you dont have any substrate...personally i like the look of a thin sandbed.

Also when can I add fish? And whats a good type to start out with?

get a good test kit, once your ammonia and nitrite have are @ 0-ppm, test ur nitrate and if it not to high go pick up something hardy like a clownfish,

Is there anything else I should know?

Yes...Take it slow...everytime you add something to your tank you have to give the tank time to adjust and build up more bacteria,

what are you running for flow? ie: powerheads
also, how much liverock do u have? 4 pds? is that it????

robzilla
06-19-2006, 01:59 AM