PDA

View Full Version : Help with setting up sump

impreza
05-30-2006, 02:52 PM
I have a tank with an external overflow with a 1.5" bulkhead and a 1" bulkhead for a return in the back of the tank. I have a sump that is ready to be used and I am about to buy a MAG submersible pump. Now, what do i need to buy to setup all this up? Where do I purchase the materials? I am completely new to sumps! I am planning to use spa flex, where is it available? I want something super simple for my setup. I am planning on having the overflow drain to my sump and have the water return to the tank, nothing fancy. I just want to make sure I get all the materials needed. Another question I have is how do I attach the spa flex to the return and overflow? Do I use clamps or..??

Thanks

BMW Rider
05-30-2006, 03:01 PM
I have a tank with an external overflow with a 1.5" bulkhead and a 1" bulkhead for a return in the back of the tank. I have a sump that is ready to be used and I am about to buy a MAG submersible pump. Now, what do i need to buy to setup all this up? Where do I purchase the materials? I am completely new to sumps! I am planning to use spa flex, where is it available? I want something super simple for my setup. I am planning on having the overflow drain to my sump and have the water return to the tank, nothing fancy. I just want to make sure I get all the materials needed. Another question I have is how do I attach the spa flex to the return and overflow? Do I use clamps or..??

Thanks

The spa flex can be glued into standard PVC fittings. You need to use the proper solvent cement though. You can probably get the proper stuff at most spa shops. Western Pump on 42 ave SE has it for sure, as well as a great selection of pvc fittings. The regular cement will not hold as well on spa flex since it is too hard. The proper cement has some flexibility to it once cured. Might as well get some of the proper primer too just to make sure it holds.

danny zubot
05-30-2006, 03:23 PM