PDA

View Full Version : i'm new here...

mrmah
06-11-2002, 01:14 PM
good morning all, I just registered yesterday, and would like to know more about the Calgary Reefing Club. What can you tell me about the monthly meetings? Can anyone attend? I'm a novice marine aquarist that just started seriously into the hobby last fall (but have been keeping fish for the last 20 years). I also heard from Rob Toonen, and he mentioned that he would be giving some sort of talk/presentation. When would that be? Anyhow, I look forward to hearing back from any of you...

AJ_77
06-11-2002, 01:40 PM
Good Morning! (Dale, is it?)

Welcome to the very un-official Calgary chapter! There may have been previous versions of the Calgary Reefing Club, but this group got together short months ago at Canadian Man's urging, and he hosted our first meeting.

You will see a thread by Tau_2301 regarding a meeting this Saturday at his place. I have no doubt you would be welcome. As for Mr Toonen, I believe he is due in these parts sometime in July. More to come on that, I'm sure.

So, greetings from another Newbie. This is a very helpful and supportive group.

Alan

Delphinus
06-11-2002, 01:48 PM
Welcome to Canreef!

(How do I pronouce your userid, BTW? Is it "Mister Mah" ? smile.gif )

Actually, there never was a reefing club before us, so we're the first! We are still a very flegdling society. Here's the history lesson: smile.gif We actually owe our existence to this board, because they generously gave us a forum when Bob asked in the main forum "Does anyone here want to form a club for Calgary?" As I recall, Dan150 (who unfortunately has since moved to Ft. McM) and I said "sure", so Titus opened up the forum. Gradually others trickled in, now our regular numbers are 5, plus a few others but who haven't made it to meetings yet (you know you guys are!!!!! Please, come) and we're always looking for more people. A club is only as good as its numbers.