PDA

View Full Version : Maybe off topic... Dive training

Aquaholic
04-12-2006, 07:24 PM
I am up in the air as to which dive center i want to get my PADI certifaction at, has anyone dealt with some of the places and which do you recomend?

(planning a trip to Fiji, and i must dive)

Thanks

spikehs
04-12-2006, 07:26 PM
I went with Adventures in Scuba, just by the petcetera. I definatley enjoyed it there.... I heard although I am not sure, they have the deepest pool in Calgary, and its saltwater...

surgeonfish
09-05-2006, 03:36 AM
When is your trip to Fiji? I have been diving for 30 years and instructing for 15 years (the last 3 years in Lethbridge). The Dive Shop probably has the most experience in town. I would get your classroom and confined water (i.e. pool) here, then do your 4 open water dives in Fiji instead of trying to do them in a wetsuit in Lake Minni.
If you ever get hooked and want to try Waterton Lake (it even has it's own wreck) sometime, give me a shout.
Good diving in Fiji,
Surgeonfish

AndyL
09-05-2006, 04:39 AM
Wetsuit? Lake Minni? You mean drysuit right? Cuz I've dipped my toes in there during the middle of summer and thought I was going to get frostbite :)

Delphinus
09-05-2006, 04:45 AM
If he's dived in Waterton then Minnewanka is practically bathtub warm in comparison. :)

Snappy
09-06-2006, 04:34 PM
I only have 9 years of diving under my belt but have had experience with both the dive shop and adventures in scuba and both are good padi shops so either one is fine and both have their own pools. As far as the course goes I would look into the 4 open water dives here at Lake Chapparel (etc) and do it now while it's still warm. That way when you go to Fiji you don't have to waste precious holiday time on dives that you don't get to see much because you are busy just rehearsing the skills. That is 2 extra days of real reef diving. Oh Yeah Baby!!
We expect plenty of pictures when you get back. If you have any other questions you can PM me.