PDA

View Full Version : tang

fishguyxd
03-31-2006, 09:23 PM
I have a new regel introduced to the tank now i also have had a couple clowns and a yellow tang in there for a quite awhile they all do swim together but the regel is still quite cautious and is hidding in the rock alot i think because of the yellow tang any special food or ideas i could do to make it feel more at rest with it's tank mates?

OCDP
03-31-2006, 09:27 PM
Put a couple (yes , 2 or 3) strips of Nori soaked in vitamins or garlic... the reason I say use a couple, is probably because your yellow tang will go nuts on one.. and the regal may be too shy to go in for some food.

I'd say if you used vitamins and garlic it would get his belly full and he'd be feeling real good.. might come around a little quicker.

To note, I own no tangs.. I have no experience.. this is just a suggestion!

Good luck, I am sure in time he'll come around :wink:

Ruth
04-01-2006, 02:05 AM
Yellow tangs can be very territorial. I have a Regal and a Yellow in my 230 that I introduced at the same time so they are fine. I tried putting my Moorish Idol in this tank and the yellow went nuts and was attacking it every chance it got - trying to slash it with it's tail. I ended up moving the MI to my 190 where he is doing just fine - knocking furiously on wooden head - for the last 4 months with his buddy my Naso Tang.
Just a side note because I don't know how your system is set up or how big these fish are but your tank may not be large enough for these 2 fish as tangs really need a lot of swimming room and it is usually recommended that you have a 6' long tank. If they are small you are probably OK for now.

Montana
04-01-2006, 04:23 AM