PDA

View Full Version : New to saltwater

rollingstones420
03-26-2006, 01:46 AM
Hey everyone. I'm new to the whole saltwater. I've always been a freshwater fan, and have 4 tanks but decided to give saltwater a shot. I am hoping to set up a 20-30 gallon with live rock and a reef lobster. Any and all advise is welcome. Thanks!

Taylor.

Sushiman
03-26-2006, 02:09 AM
Welcome aboard! Lobster's are fun & have the additional bonus of being yummy too. They are ruthless killers however so do expect much of anything to survive with him though. if you like the species tank thing, take a look at Mantis shrimp, IMHO much more interesting, very EVIL!!!!
For a lobster set-up I would think a GOOD skimmer, ie; Euro-reef, Deltec, Aqua-c....$$$$ well spent down the road.
Liberal use of carbon, high H2O turn over, basic lighting & a varied meaty diet. Try a PVC cave hidden under the sand & live rock. Research FOWLR set-ups.

rollingstones420
03-26-2006, 03:08 AM
Mantis shrimp... are they the ones that crack fish in the head with that spike? I got the lobster idea because big als just got a shipment and J&L has one, so I'm not impartial to other suggestions. I'm currently reading "The Concientious Marine Aquarist" for the basics of marine fishkeeping. I do like species tanks. I have a couple of piranha species tanks. The guys at J&L said fast fish could survive a reef lobster so would they be talking about fish like some chromis or damsel fish? Thanks.

Ruth
03-26-2006, 04:22 AM
Welcome to Canreef and the wonderful, frustrating, rewarding, infuriating, you get the picture.
Please post if you have any questions that we can help you out with.