PDA

View Full Version : New to hobby. Where to buy hardware etc?

lastlight
01-27-2006, 05:05 AM
Hello,

Like I said this is my first try at the marine game. I'm looking for good deals on some hardware and other things and wanted to know where the smart reefer shops in Calgary for various things.

What's a reasonable price for an ASM G1X Skimmer? I plan to get one and I'm currently hunting around. Do you people shop online or is it cheaper in the long run to buy locally?

RO/DI? I've found a couple sites that are highly spoken of...which units are a good buy locally?

Pumps. Anyone use Quiet Ones? Are they quiet and are they dependable? If not, which brands would you recommend?

Tunze Turbelles. Do people here use them and if so, did you have to buy them online? They seem like a valuable addition to a tank.

Finally, what's a good place to buy maintenance things like salt, test kits, meters etc?

Do people here generally shop in one place or all over town?

A lot of questions but hey, I'm curious =)

Cheers!

Brett

Tarolisol
01-27-2006, 05:15 AM
I think most people one here shop online for almost everything, lots of the time from jlaquatics.com i get most stuff online and buy at once so i get free shipping, the only thing i buy locally is salt and fish. Also the buysell forum is very good to use.

scuglass
01-27-2006, 06:09 AM
i ussually look at bigals products but never buy there. sometimes i buy livestock from there cause sometimes they have a lot more than other stores. but ussually go to golds to buy things locally or look on oceansaquatics or jls for online. i picked up my ro unit on ebay.

SeaHorse_Fanatic
01-27-2006, 07:32 AM
On-line, J&L & Ocean Aquatics are the most popular among Canreefers. Locally, try Gold's (Albert is a member).

The Aqua-Safe RODI unit from North Vancouver is the one that alot of reefers are using. It's very cost effective & I would recommend you purchase extra filters & resins at the same time to save on shipping later.