PDA

View Full Version : Emergency... mistake while dosing!!!

fresh
01-12-2006, 06:11 AM
Hi all,

So this is my first time dosing Ca/Alk and I made a biiiiiig mistake!!!

After I put one (LARGE) cup of Calcium Chloride mix that I just created and one (LARGE) cup of Baking Soda mix that I also just created, I measured both Ca and Alk to see where I am sitting at.... My reading were 550 for Calcium and 19 for Alk!!!!

How bad is this? How can I solve it? Is it ok to leave the system as is until these two get depleated?

Will this kill any of my animals??? please let me know.

Thanks

My tank (72gal) inhabitants are:
2 clowns
2 tangs
1 chromis
1 shrimp
a number of snails and crabs.

Corals etc:
2 maxima clams
1 med. brown acro
2 small caps
candycane
moon coral
branching hammer
open brain
gsp
xenia
finger leather
large anemone

Chin_Lee
01-12-2006, 06:14 AM
Yo dude, bring that alk down to at least 12-13. 19 is way too high - your livestock are not going to be happy campers.
don't worry about your calcium.

Willow
01-12-2006, 06:16 AM
thats pretty high but not disastorious. you might want to do a water change and keep an eye on stuff. some of your corals will probably close up as thats a prety big shift in change for one day. depending on your depletion rate your levels might stay like that for awhile unless you change some water out.

danny zubot
01-12-2006, 02:29 PM
You might find that those levels are balanced with each other, I just can't seam to find that calculator on RC. I'd still bring down the Alk, inverts don't like it that high. I agree that you CA isn't as detrimental but if your Mg isn't balanced your corals won't utilize the Ca.

fresh
01-12-2006, 04:13 PM
Well, I just checked this morning, and everything was "still" alive (sigh).

What are the disadvantages of having this happen? If everything is open and happy latter today, can I just leave it as is?