PDA

View Full Version : Help with additives.

JasonJ
01-11-2006, 06:54 AM
my tank has been up for about 2 months now.
20gal tank
35lbs LR
30lbs LS
AC150
Prism skimmer.
130 watts 24" coralife PC

clean up crew(hermits,snails,fire shrimp)
2 false percs
open brain
2 heads torch coral
2 heads hammer coral
Green star polyps
green hairy mushroom
a frag of zoo
and a really small ricordea.

i do water change every week.
should i still dose with iodine..or is water changes once a week good enough?

and how much calcium should i dose?..kent kalk? or kent luqiud calcium?
im new at this...so please help me.
thanks.

Ruth
01-11-2006, 10:41 AM
Your best bet is to use Bev's chemistry links and determine what your ideal levels should be at for what you are keeping. IMO if you are doing weekly water changes of 15-25% you probably don't have to be dosing anything. The key is to test your tank water as well as your make up water to determine where your levels are at. The general rule of thumb is don't dose anything that you are not testing for.

RonPeter
01-11-2006, 02:57 PM
You don't want to dose anything without checking your water perimeters first. Get yourself some good test kits and check your Alk, calcium levels to see what you need to adjust first.

Beverly
01-11-2006, 03:41 PM
Your best bet is to use Bev's chemistry links and determine what your ideal levels should be at for what you are keeping. IMO if you are doing weekly water changes of 15-25% you probably don't have to be dosing anything. The key is to test your tank water as well as your make up water to determine where your levels are at. The general rule of thumb is don't dose anything that you are not testing for.

Reef Chemistry links can be found here...

http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=19425