PDA

View Full Version : Scratched glass!

Mike Olson
12-28-2005, 06:26 AM
Does anyone know if there is a way to 'remove' a couple of scratches from inside a filled tank? I have a magnetic cleaner and I didnt notice what looks like a tiny sharp snail shell on the outer edge of the cleaner...it only made contact in a couple locations where the bow in my tank is!..One is 3 inches lon and a few 1 inch scratches....I had my 72 Bowfront for a year and never scratched it, I set my 150 Bowfront up 3 weeks ago....never fails!

j83
12-28-2005, 06:43 AM
I hate to be the one to break the news to you but I believe glass is very hard, if not impossible to repair especially with it being full of water. Acrylic yes, Glass No. I Think (although I am no expert) that there MAY be glass scratch repair kits out there but I have no idea how good they would be.

Chin_Lee
12-28-2005, 06:49 AM
have anybody seen that solution that you can apply on eyeglasses that removes all scratches? I've seen it on some infomercial and often wondered if it will work on our tanks for fine scratches. On TV, they scratched a pair of eyeglasses up with steelwool and then applied this stuff on it and it was all clear again. Hmmmmmm

OK never mind. did some research and it appears to have not worked for anybody who's tried it.
Disregard.

Doug
12-28-2005, 02:26 PM
Let me know if you find something. I scratched the new "starfire" front, because NOW, I find out its softer and scratches easier than normal glass.:sad:

Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggggggggggggggg. :twised: Nice way to wreck a new 180g cube.

I also now find out, that it appears there are different grades of starfire. DUH!!

I,m going to try the glass company itself today and see if anything can be used to buff it but from the responses on other boards, it appears that we who have scratches are toast. :cry:

Mike Olson
12-29-2005, 05:40 AM