PDA

View Full Version : Stocking for 72 gallon reef......

mooch28
12-21-2005, 04:23 AM
Hey guys, first off. Tank specs.

72 gallon bow front
70 LBS of live rock
90 pounds aragnite
Mag 9.5 in closed loop for circulation
Fluval 404 for circulation and mechanical filtration
Aquamedic Turbofloater 1000 multi skimmer
No sump
No refuge
Pc (4 x 65 watt lighting) soon to be upgraded to 2 250watt HQI pendants.
LPS, SPS. (not yet, waiting for light.....)
Weekly 20% water changes with R/O water.

Now, for that set up above, im planning the following fish. Please forgive me if i ovrestock a bit, im fairly new to SW.

Pair of Banggai Cardinalfish
1 Bicolor Pseudochromis
1 Royal Gramma Basslet
Pair of Ocellaris Clownfish
1 Sailfin/Algae Blenny
1 Powder Blue Tang

I will also be adding various snails, couple of shrimp. Hermit crabs, and poissbly one small star fish.

Am i ok with my stocking levels?? Am i over stocked, understock (meaning i have room for more), etc.

Thanks!

scuglass
12-21-2005, 05:06 AM
dont think the gramma and bi color wqill get along

Tarolisol
12-21-2005, 05:34 AM
The bicolor and royal gramma look almost identicle i would just pick one.

Ruth
12-21-2005, 12:03 PM
Powder blue tangs get quite large and are also a more finicky fish. They are very prone to ich (more so than most tangs because they are all prone to ich) If it was me I would seriously consider a smaller tang like a yellow or purple.

BMW Rider
12-21-2005, 02:49 PM
I'd skip the pseudochromis too. The cardinals don't like agressive tankmates and the pseudochromis deffinitly can be aggressive. I have a purple pseudochromis in my 50 gallon tank, and he doesn't take any crap from the tank bully, a domino damsel that is ten times his size.

andestang
12-21-2005, 03:20 PM
I also agree about the pseudochromis. Instead of the tang how about a flame angel - great starter fish, hardy, colorful and stay small for a 75g.

snaggle
12-21-2005, 03:34 PM