PDA

View Full Version : Freshwater bacteria on Saltwater

Sammy
12-19-2005, 11:39 PM
Howdy all,

Im new to saltwater, been running fresh for few years and I am really digging the reef setups. I can see many changes to my fish room over the next couple years thats for sure. (Ok... next few months)

Need some input or feedback about Freshwater/saltwater beneficial bacteria.
I have been reading quite a few reports on the net lately that The beneficial bacteria from the freshwater filter will do the same job on a saltwater tank if transfered over. I was under the impression that it would not work on a reef tank once seeded by a fresh water tank? Anythoughts?

Cheers,

Sammy

Johnny Reefer
12-20-2005, 03:58 AM
I would say no.
Saltwater systems have other bacteria involved, besides Nitrosomonas and Nitrobacter.
Namely Nitrosococcus mobilis, N. oceanus, and Nitrospira spp.
I would think that if you started off with a seeded FW filter, you would have an imbalance of too much of the Nitrosomonas and Nitrobacter and not enough of the others.
I think it is better to start from scratch and let the filter balance itself out right from the get go, IMHO. (If that makes any sense?):lol:

Cheers,

Sammy
12-20-2005, 09:34 PM
Thanks Johnny Reefer :)

That makes more sense then any other info I have gotting on this subject. Thanks a bunch.

Sammy

BCOrchidGuy
12-28-2005, 07:33 PM