PDA

View Full Version : Mangroves: How big do they grow?

Seriak
12-05-2005, 02:48 AM
Hey I have been growing a couple mangrives for the last few years and they are now about 3 feet tall and quite bushy. I keep having to raise the lights. Anyways, I know they are trees but how big will they get in the aquarium setting and would they eventually have roots strong enough to push through the glass?

vanreefer
12-05-2005, 02:54 AM
huge and yes

ree-fready
12-05-2005, 03:03 AM
Pictures.

fakename
12-05-2005, 03:43 AM
Ummm, they grow into trees......trees. Like that you could climb. They have huge roots that could probably push through concrete with enough time. :mrgreen:
Unlike tangs though, you can stunt the growth of many plants by keeping them in containers that keep them root bound. Just hope that glass is stronger than the roots....

Delphinus
12-05-2005, 04:54 AM
Far out. I've been growing about 5 magroves from pods since 2002 and they're barely 12" tall in the three years I've been growing them. I figured they were extremely slow growing. How do you have yours growing? I WISH mine would grow at least a little.

geopod
12-05-2005, 05:14 AM
I havent heard of Mangroves that big unless they were potted after they grew their leaves and placed outside....On that note....anyone in Edmonton have any for sale?I would like to buy one for my refugium.

george

BT05
12-05-2005, 07:17 AM
I thought that you were supposed to trim most of the leaves off and just let the roots develop? Do you mean 3' tall including their roots or from the water line? :eek:

Seriak
12-05-2005, 01:37 PM
I think 3' was rounding up. But I was including the roots as the roots extend down from the water line and the plant is 1'1/2 feet to 2' out of the water. I should really measure and give you exact measurements. They are only as short as they are because I didn't bother raising the lights so the leaves kept getting burned. I just recently raised the lights.

Cap'n
12-06-2005, 01:41 AM