PDA

View Full Version : HI, need advice

sharelove
11-23-2005, 03:29 PM
Hi, I am completely new to this and there is no one at this time with whom I can connect in person here in Nelson that has experience and time and can share knowledge :-(
The good side to the internet is I can connect with all you wonderful people from all over the world! Please feel free to post your thoughts to my newbie questions!
Firstly, I should tell you what I have and where i'm going with it: I have a 90gal or 339Liter glass tank. I've bought a FF (foam fractionator) a few powerheads, a jebo canister filter, a couple of very good beginner books and other paraphenalia. I introduced 70lbs/32kgs of live uncured rock from Tonga. I just put the rock in a week ago. I've got nothing else in there now. I will be adding sand and live sand, and then I would like to start adding FISH!! and a cleaner crew - hermit crabs, snails etc...
So what I would like to know is, at this point, I just took my first readings re: tests, and my results seem low to me. I should mention that I have done some water changes in order to get my salinity correct. For the first part of the week it was a bit low around .014 -.017 but now i've dialed it in at around .021-.022 (getting used to using the cheap plastic "deep six" hydrometer...)
Ammonia >0.2
Nitrite >0.1
Nitrate >10
Ph between 7.8 & 7.9

What do you all think? am I doing OK? Is my rock gonna die!!!???

:-)

thanks again for your patience and hearing me out. I look forward to participating as I get better at this!
cheers,
marc

OCDP
11-23-2005, 03:39 PM
Welcome to Canreef :smile:

So, right to the point .... your rock will not die. Do you have any light over your tank? You should try to boost your salinity up to about 1.024 for now, maybe 1.025. Boost it up a point a day , (is the general rule) But you don't have any livestock in there so I would think you could boost it two points a day or something.