PDA

View Full Version : WTB Small Clam

NanoReef
11-22-2005, 06:31 PM
I am looking for a small clam of any sort. i will be in Winnipeg on the 8th and 9th of december and i am not sure that any of the stores will have small ones. PM me!

OCDP
11-22-2005, 07:21 PM
Are you aware that "small" clams require more care than say a 4-5" clam (may it be crocea or maxima) I think those two are what you're after.. colour wise, and size wise.

NanoReef
11-22-2005, 10:01 PM
yea i realize that. i have a squamosa clam in my tank right now and he is pretty big so i just want a small clam so that in 2 months when my 90 is up, he will live in there but for now, he will have to live in my 20 and THATS why i want a small one!! lol

muck
11-22-2005, 10:02 PM
why not wait till you setup your 90.. :confused:

Ruth
11-22-2005, 10:22 PM
I'm not a clam expert but I did do quite a bit of research before I bought one (I have 6 now). Not sure what you mean my "small" but from what I understand anything around the 2-3" clams require direct feeding using some kind of live phyto such as DT's or they won't survive. The problem with this in a small tank is the danger of polluting your tank. They do seem to do better in nutrient rich water from my observations and research. If by small you mean something around a 4" you should be fine as long as your lights are up to the task which I am sure they are. All of my clams have been shipped or transported by me and they seem to do just fine so you may want to look at shipping if you can't find one locally. I notice that J&L has a couple on their website now. Just my 2 pennies.

Murminator
11-22-2005, 10:34 PM
Sorry to hi-jack but is there a site where we can learn about clams because one day I want one so I guess I should start research today :cool:

muck
11-22-2005, 10:37 PM
Check out this then Murray.. :cool:

http://www.clamsdirect.com/phpbb2/

NanoReef
11-23-2005, 01:23 PM