PDA

View Full Version : Need a little electrical help

Murminator
11-03-2005, 09:21 PM
I got these 2 huge ballasts my questions are...

1. Can I only use 2 T12 bulbs to a max of 110w? or can I use smaller bulbs but do not go over 110w?

2. Are these HO ballasts?

3. If I can run more than 2 bulbs can I just splice into the wire coming off.

4. What kinda endcaps are needed? or are they bulb specific

Help !!!

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c142/Murminator/Ballast.jpg

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c142/Murminator/ballast2.jpg

Invigor
11-03-2005, 10:20 PM
i'm not a pro at these, but I don't think you'll be able to use these for 110w VHOs, they're made for 8ft NO t12s. I don't think they'll have the "OOMPH" to fire VHOs as they require 1500mA or something..NO are 600mA.. my numbers might be off, but it's something like that..

if it was a HO ballast it'd say so in the bulbs it works with.. like F96T12HO

something along the lines of that... :rolleyes: :mrgreen:

edit: I stand corrected on the highlighted statement. It IS a HO ballast. http://www.ballast.com/eCatalog/out/1425513961.pdf

Murminator
11-04-2005, 03:50 PM
Thanks for the reply that helps out I couldn't find anything in the net. It did take me to the advance ballast but I was looking for Philips.
Answers some questions but not all anyone else?

reefburnaby
11-04-2005, 06:32 PM
Hi,

IMHO, your ballast mislabeled. Actually it should say F96T12HO where HO is for high output (or double normal output). NOs usually have a lamp current of 430mA (for T12) and HOs have double that. VHOs have double that of HOs. Its commonly used in store signs.

Phillips ballats are made by Advanced Transformers (which is why they look so similar).

To answer....