PDA

View Full Version : pony stable

NanoReef
11-02-2005, 04:50 PM
i have a few questions about setting up a sea horse tank. what is a good tank size, filtration, temperature, all those good things!!! lots of live rock or none/?? im quite new to the seahores concept!!! any help would be great!

Beverly
11-02-2005, 06:17 PM
Two great seahorse boards to ask all of your questions...

http://www.syngnathid.org/

http://www.seahorse.org/

DanG
11-02-2005, 07:02 PM
Next time you're in Winnipeg, stop by Salt Water connection on henderson highway and talk to Jayson. He's had very good luck with seahorses, and I've always found him to be very willing to talk to customers as long as they're willing to listen.

SeaHorse_Fanatic
11-02-2005, 07:20 PM
Seahorses are fascinating, beautiful creatures but should not be attempted until you have a fair amount of experience with easier to keep fish because they require a large portion of TLC to do well. Even captive-bred ones can sometimes stop eating frzn foods & become extremely picky about their diet. Not sure how much sw experience you have, so I just thought I'd put this out.

If you feel up to the challenge, find out what species your LFS can get in & how much it'll cost so you can make an informed decision.

Then, decide how many you can afford/want to keep & that'll help determine tank size.

Then set up the appropriate sized tank with some LR & LS & let it cycle for several months. This will also give your pod/live mysis population time to reproduce so you'll have a good supply of live food before your seahorses arrive. When stressed (such as going from the LFS to your place) SHs often go off-feed & need live food to survive until you can re-educate them to eat frzn mysis.

Plastic plants & fake corals may look funny but actually make pretty good seahorse perches.