PDA

View Full Version : lighting for a 10g?

tacmedic
10-24-2005, 07:17 PM
I'm a noob to nanoreefing, but have been running FW tanks for years, I have a 10g tank laying around, and would like to turn it into a nanoreef tank! I have been to nano-reef.com and got some really good info, but I'm looking for some more specifics! Most importantly, lighting....I know there are alot of options for lighting out there, but no site I have been to has really given me a clear idea of what lighting I should use on a 10g setup! I'm thinking of getting the 2x36 Bright kit from A H supply seen at http://ahsupply.com/36-55w.htm ....I'm a little confused still as to "how much wattage" I need to use? 1x55w, 1x36w, 2x55w, 2x36w? I think the 36w bulbs will fit better on top of the 10g tank, but will it be enough light, or should I go with a 2x setup?? Sorry for the simpleton question, but as soon as I figure this out, I can start to get setup!!

muck
10-24-2005, 07:37 PM
It really depends on what you want in the tank.
If you want to do a softy tank with a few LPS corals PC lighting would be fine. If your looking at keeping a clam and SPS you might want to lean more towards MH lighting. (150W DE or 175W SE would work great)

Give us an idea of where you want to go with the tank and the info will come in.. :mrgreen:

Bob I
10-24-2005, 09:16 PM
Well I will dive right in. I have gotten lighting from AH Supply. It is nice, and I would got the 2X36W route, except for a couple of things. The first one is that I have not yet seen any 36W bulbs in Canada. The second is cost By the time you pay exchance, and shipping, and GSY and handling at the border you are looking at a pretty steep price.
I have one of these kits.and two on a 10 would be nice.
http://www.mops.ca/cgi-bin/SoftCart.exe/cshop/LICU-SP32R.html?L+scstore+nksh6084ff0e940e+1130191184
I have one of these too, and on a 10 it would be great.
http://www.jlaquatics.com/phpstore/store_pages/details/l-pc.php?product_ID=pc-al2096