PDA

View Full Version : 54 gallon perc tank

dunl
09-15-2005, 12:29 AM
I want to do up 54 gallon bowfront tank as a percula tank, with a 15 gllon sump.

Just looking for suggestion, as this will be my first saltwater tank.

Joe Reefer
09-15-2005, 01:06 AM
Read and do as much research as possible before any purchases are made.

dunl
09-15-2005, 02:10 AM
Not a beginner here, just in saltwater. Guess I should have mentioned that. :redface:

I've been reading for months, looking for member's suggestions now, as I am all ready to start the tank cycling. Looking to hash out the suggestions over the next month or so while I cycle it... Basically, I'm looking for different types of suggestions for a FOWLR setup.

After experience with that, I might look at corals, but that will probably be at least six months down the road...

Dunl

Ruth
09-15-2005, 03:14 AM
My suggestion to you would be to try and imagine where you want to be in a year or two and buy equipment that is suited for that kind of tank. I know that I have more pieces of equipment from skimmers to pumps to lights that I thought would suit my needs and were a "good deal" just laying around. Spend the money up front because it will save you money down the road. The 3 that I would highly recommend that you go for overkill (at least it will seem that way right now) are skimmer, lights and flow.

dunl
09-15-2005, 03:52 AM
Done.

Now I'm looking for suggestions on setups for a 54 gallon bowfront percula tank.

Thanks,
Dunl :cool:

Richer
09-15-2005, 04:13 AM
When I had my 30g half cube (24"x24"x12") running, I always wanted to convert it into a clown tank... a big anemone, and a small group of 3-4 percs.

Of course, with your tank, you'd probably want to have your LR and fish in there for a few months just to have things stabilized before you can even think of putting an anemone in there.

-Rich

dunl
09-15-2005, 04:17 AM
Yeah, I was thinking that I could wait a while on an anemone.