PDA

View Full Version : Firefish Blister

Grandmaison
06-16-2005, 05:04 AM
Greetings, I hope you Canadians don't mind a USA citizen posting here. If you tell me to "Pi$$ Off", I'll understand!

I'm new to reefing and have a 72 gal bowfront that is about 6 months old now. I check my water quality weekly and have an aquastar monitor on it at all times...so I know my cycling and ORP and nitrate/nitrite/ammonia/phosphate/CA levels all too well. Water quality is perfect...or nearly so! Half of my rock was already totally live when I got it and I've got a DSB of at least 3" as well. Lots of corals from a local reef guru and a handful of fishes as well as the usual tank cleaning crew.

At any rate, tonight I discovered my purple firefish (she's so adorable with that green eyeshadow and magenta lipstick) has what appears to be some small white discoloration type blisters on her side. They seem to change shape slightly, almost as if something is under her skin. Is this a parasite or just some kind of biology taking shape in her? I've also noticed some whiteish discoloration on my six line wrasse's side. It's not white spots, so I'm not fearing ich, but they don't seem quite right tonight. They are all behaving totally normally, eating and swimming well and doing everything the way they've always been doing. I'll keep a close eye on her but I'm concerned.

I've got a large rose anenome as well (my Marron clown is in love with it) and I've also wondered if maybe she's been stung by it.

Anyone have any idea what's going on with my firefish and wrasse???

Thanks so much from a reef newbie!!!!

Robert

danny zubot
06-16-2005, 03:36 PM
Welcome to Canreef Robert, where you from?

Sounds like it could be an anemone sting but without pics it's hard to say. Do the fish seem stressed, heavy breathing etc?

Grandmaison
06-16-2005, 05:26 PM
No, the fish do not seem stressed at all. Everyone seems happy, eating well, swimming well, respirating normally, etc.