PDA

View Full Version : Dwarf Lionfish

KTV
06-03-2005, 05:33 PM
I've always been quite fascianted by these things but unfortunately don't have the room to setup a species tank.

Has anyone have any success keeping them in a reef tank with other inhabitants like clowns and a mandarin?

OCDP
06-03-2005, 05:39 PM
I'm no expert, but mandarin and clowns are going to be like lionfish food for him depending on the size. I am not sure if it would eat a Mandarin? (I dont see why it wouldn't) ... but if your clowns are tiny, they are most likely going to become a snack. Just my thoughts, wait for Danny to chime in, he has a dwarf.

HTH

danny zubot
06-03-2005, 06:08 PM
No no no.

You really need to research the type of lionfish you buy. I have a dwarf zebra lionfish who is now fully grown. It lives in my tank with my clown, a small hippo tang and up until two days ago my manderin. Lionfish have to be trained to eat frozen food, like large mysis and silversides. They will consume any small fish that they can fit in their mouth. If you keep it well fed and make sure it's tankmates are too big to eat you should be fine.

They are awsome fish, I encourage anyone to try them.

OCDP
06-03-2005, 06:10 PM
haha I would take out that "anyone" part Danny :lol:

danny zubot
06-03-2005, 06:14 PM
Here's a link KTV to get you started.
http://www.amonline.net.au/fishes/students/focus/dendro.htm
Thats my lionfish, Mr. Phoomps.

KTV
06-03-2005, 08:04 PM
That's what I figure, as long as the inhabitants are bigger than it can eat then it can't be that much trouble. The whole thing about training it to eat has me kind of concerned though. Maybe I'll look into it somemore.

danny zubot
06-03-2005, 08:25 PM
Apparently the Zebra is one of the more difficult to train. I ended up giving it to Deb and she was successful in getting him to eat frozen foods.

EmilyB
06-04-2005, 01:53 AM