PDA

View Full Version : pH dropping steadily tonight

Shy_Koi
05-09-2005, 06:53 AM
Arggg - I hope someone is still up, I need some advice.....
Just got home from work and noticed that my tank's pH was 7.63 and dropping :eek:
It's usually still around 8.0 or so at this time of night. Morning low is around 7.8.
Checked the calibration of my pinpoint monitor and it's bang on. Also just ran some tests:
Salinity: 1.026
dKH: 9.5
Ca: 400
Mg: 1280
Temp: 79
No refugium
Water surface has good movement and there's a skimmer running.
I use Seachem's reef advantage calcium and reef builder to maintain Ca and alk.
Should I go ahead and drip in some pH buffer?
I've never used it before, but I'm afraid the tank may crash if the pH keeps dropping like it is....
If anyone has any advice, I'm all ears!
~Tamara

IslandReefer
05-09-2005, 09:08 AM
Please check on the "look" of your corals before doing radical pH compensation. If they look "happy" don't do anything drastic...my vote is bum pH reading, assuming this is a sudden event.
Pinpoint meters are famous for wild readings and interference especially with the plug-in adapter...use the 9 volt battery see if that helps...I have one tank that when the PC lights are on I can't get a good pH to save my soul. :rolleyes:
Also how old is your probe they only have a apx 1.5 year halflife. :mrgreen:
If you can borrow another pH meter (or probe) ,do so and compare...not just the readings but the response also....mine tends to overshoot the high pH so it says 8.6 and up some times....unplug, recal (with fresh calibrators) and all is usually well. :cool:
Your dKH is high enough to buffer normal day/ night C02 effect to a change of less than 0.5 pH much more is harmful (so they say :smile: ).
How high does the pH get in midafternoon? (near the end of MH "day")
Good luck
PS if you are worried turn the lights back on tonightand see if the pH starts to normalize

Nemo
05-09-2005, 11:20 AM