PDA

View Full Version : LED revival

StirCrazy
04-22-2005, 12:48 AM
well about 1.3 years ago I started playing with LED's for suplementry lighting for tanks, I got good results but cost wise it wasn't realistic to do on a larger tank. well sence I got a 45 gal tank sitting in the garage screaming for me to rebuild the cabnet I have decided to take up the LED bug again. (also having a new job where I have lots of spart time, allows me to do a lot of stuff at work)

this was the results I got on my 25 gal tank back then
http://members.shaw.ca/s.l.s/diy/led/index.html

has anyone continued with this ? ie. played with newer brighter LED's and such?

right now I am looking at setting up a system that will use a wack of LEDs for dusk and dawn graduated lighting, so I will use both 470nm and 430nm LED's and maybe some 385nm ones also, so in the AM the 385's would come on first, then the 430's would light up adding to the total, and finaly the 470's would come on line. I think this would make a stunning visual effect and I am even thinking of carring it on by going with progressivly lighter blue LEDs leading into white lighting, and then reverse everything at night time. need less to say the timer is going to be a pain in the you know what :mrgreen: but I have a couple ideas I am flipping around and once I make sence of them :eek: I will be looking for a second opinion :mrgreen:

I know Kyle was playing with some new ones and he was going to send me one to try out for a bit (and do a PAR test on) but that never materialized. so if anyone has a luxton star and driver for it I would love to be able to do a PAR test on it to see if the extra money is worth it.

at any rate any ideas / questions / complaints are more than welcome.

Steve

Troy F
04-22-2005, 12:59 AM
Are the pictures of your original set up an accurate representation of the actual colour and brightness?

If so, I think it would be ideal for a deep water species tank.