PDA

View Full Version : Where to get a tank drilled in Victoria?

Noj
04-13-2005, 05:55 PM
Hey everyone, looking to get a 40gal tank drilled. Wendell at OA is sending over the overflow, bulkheads and standpipe.

I have little knowledge about this. So if anyone knows a good place to get a tank drilled, and a good set up for plumbing I'd appreciate it!

thanks

-Cam

Aquattro
04-13-2005, 10:16 PM
Cam, there is a glass shop behind the Ford dealer near Hillside & Douglas, they drilled mine for about $25.

Noj
04-13-2005, 10:34 PM
Will they put in the bulkhead too for $25?

thanks

Aquattro
04-13-2005, 10:44 PM
Will they put in the bulkhead too for $25?

thanks

No, you put it in yourself. It's a giant nut and bolt, essentially. You drop the cone part thru the hole, screw the flange on the threads from the bottom. Wet the gasket a bit before tightening (by hand), and you're good to go.

Noj
04-13-2005, 10:57 PM
So it is as fool proof as people keep telling me :confused:

I think I like the idea of being able to point the finger at someone else if my floor turns into a pool!!

Now, if I have the tank drilled in the bottom left corner of the tank, where should the retun hole be? top right, bottom right, middle???

Thanks

Aquattro
04-13-2005, 11:36 PM
return hole? I don't use a return hole, but rather have a pipe coming over the top of the tank. My latest tank has a sea swirl on the return, so only one hole going out.

Oh, and if someone installed the bulkhead and it leaked, they wouldn't accept liability. It's like screwing ina lightbulb though, so just do it! :razz:

Noj
04-13-2005, 11:41 PM
Brad - If you could, would you have the return hole drilled? Or does it make no difference?

What is the best method for installing baffles for a sump?

Also, in the market for a mag 9 or 12....if anyone has one or knows of one.

Thanks

Aquattro
04-13-2005, 11:52 PM