PDA

View Full Version : When can an Anenome be added?

Gools
04-02-2005, 02:23 AM
A friend of mine wants to add an anenome to his tank. it has just finished cycling. It has been setup for a month and a half. It was started with Live rock, and filter floss from my tank, to start cycling. He has 1 marine glow 20w, 1 powerglow 20w, 2- 65w power compacts, on a 50g tank. he wants to add an anenome, is it seafe yet? I have no experience with them, so any imput. Thanks

BMW Rider
04-02-2005, 02:43 AM
The common opinion seems to be not before a year. That allows the tank lots of time to mature and stabilize. Also allows the keeper to get into a routine with the tank maintenance and such. The second part will be dependant upon prior reef or saltwater experience. I would say that given the difficulty in keeping anemones successfully, that it is best not to rush getting one.

I added my anemone after only 10 months. By then my test results were very consistant and had been for months. I also had 6 previous years of experience with a FO tank. I had pretty much developed and refined my maintenance routines. It was hard to wait so long, but the anemone is doing great and has grown quite a bit. My old tomato clown is starting to check it out, hopefully soon she will actually host in it.

rickjames
04-02-2005, 02:43 AM
Nope, the tank is not even close to being ready for an anemone at 1.5 months. I think I pushed it when I put mine in after 9 months! Plus anemone's do best under MH lighting, certain species might survive under those power compacts, but I don't think any would do well. JMO.

Gools
04-02-2005, 02:48 AM
Thanks guys, Unfortunetly I have a feeling what ever I tell him will fall on deaf ears. He has no prior experience with saltwater tanks, but has kept fresh for years, and are beautyful. Anymore suggestions.

Willow
04-02-2005, 02:58 AM
he is going to need some better light than that for anemone's.

rickjames
04-02-2005, 03:53 AM