PDA

View Full Version : New House/New tank

RobbAdams
03-15-2005, 08:32 PM
OK, my wife and I have purchased a new home and i am looking at upgrading my set up now that I actually have more room.

My current setup is a 28gallon bow front, with 2x65 PC's, a remora skimmer, and a few powerheads. No sump/refuge Etc.

For my new setup I am looking at perhaps going to a 48 inch long by 24 inch footprint, and probably only 14" or so high. I don't really want to go with Metal Halide. The heat, Startup cost and Hydro bill just don't work for me. I am not really into the Fuzzy sticks. I am into leathers mushrooms and other "wavey" stuff. The new house is a split level, and I could easily place a Sump and whatnot in the Basement. I am also considering making this a "In-wall" type setup.

I have no experience with closed loops or any of this other seemingly complicated stuff I hear you folks talking about. I could really use some help in determining how to go about setting something like this up. Sump would probably be a 30 or 33 gallon tank (What ever is cheap in the Bargain Finder)

I think from what I sort of know and have seen I would be looking at an internal type overflow in each of the rear corners. I would also like to consider one of those 4 way "Wave maker" devices that you hook up to your return (Oceanmotions or something like that)

This is all really preliminary perhaps still even in the daydreaming stage, but any input suggestions would really be appreciated.

trilinearmipmap
03-15-2005, 09:13 PM
I would consider T5 lighting, it works for me on 48" x 24" x 24" LPS/softie tank.

I would consider making your tank deeper eg. a standard 120 with dimensions as above.

You need to look at whether your floor will hold the load of your tank.

Good luck.

medican
03-15-2005, 09:33 PM
hello......

A new tank is always a fun and yes stressful time........