PDA

View Full Version : Ca discovery

sumpfinfishe
03-06-2005, 01:30 AM
Hi all :biggrin:

I'm sure there are a few of you that know I have been batteling with minor Ca issues for awhile now. Well I did some testing today and found the source of my problem :eek:

I tested my new bucket of IO and here are the results at a two different salinity readings:
1.023=300ppm Ca
1.025=320ppm Ca

I guess I'm gonna try talking to my LFS to see if that's normal for Ca and if it is, I'm gonna be picking up a pail of Kent salt instead :exclaim:

Invigor
03-06-2005, 03:15 AM
i've had that problem too. I have some coralife salt that I'm going to try out to see if there's a dif

BCWolfen
03-06-2005, 04:38 AM
I have been using the same bucket of Kent for the 2 months my tank has been running. Now mind you I have no stonies in it that are using Ca, but assume my cleaners are all using some to build their shells and so is my coralline? My Ca has been between 500-520. I was kinda worried about it at first, being too high? But everyone seems happy.

BCOrchidGuy
03-06-2005, 06:08 AM
Kent salt used to be made by Instant Ocean, basically it was IO with some additives. Now Kent is made by Oceanic and the formula MAY have changed slightly. This may not have come about yet but about a year ago I was told by Kent that the change was coming quick.
I'm still trying to get a hold of Kent customer service about another question and the sales rep here gave me the phone number of a chemist for Kent so I'll be phoning on Monday, I'll try to find out if Kent is indeed now made by Oceanic or still IO.

Doug

StirCrazy
03-06-2005, 01:56 PM
Hi all :biggrin:

I'm sure there are a few of you that know I have been batteling with minor Ca issues for awhile now. Well I did some testing today and found the source of my problem :eek:

I tested my new bucket of IO and here are the results at a two different salinity readings:
1.023=300ppm Ca
1.025=320ppm Ca