PDA

View Full Version : help

eddy
02-06-2005, 03:51 PM
HELP! I am new to the salt water world, I set up a 90 gallon tank in the end of December, slowly introduced live rock and some corals. I have 63 pounds live rock, some colts, shrooms, pulsing zenia, zoo's, toadstool, and a few other odds and ends. I recently added fish 4 clowns, 3 damsels, one jawboned and one royal gram., and one yellow tang I have about 18 hermits, 10 turbo snails, a peppermint shrimp and an arrow crab. One of the live rocks I bought had a small bta on it and its doing fine. I bought a long tenticle anen for my clown fish and for a week and a half it did fine. It now looks listless, fell face down off its rock once, I put it back, now its hanging on by a thread. Most of the tenticles are shruken and its mouth area is wide open. I tested all my nitrites, nitrates, ammonia and ph and everything is at the proper levels. What the hell is happening.

snaggle
02-06-2005, 04:04 PM
I have heard not to but in an anemone for one year nd adding all that live stock in 2 months seem kinda fast to me. :eek: Just my $0.02 I would wait to try again on the anemone. aslo what kind of light do you have :question:

Brad

untamed
02-06-2005, 04:23 PM
I agree...my first response to reading this was to think..."All that stuff has been added to a tank which started in December???" That's fast.

Anemones are very particular. This doesn't sound good and I'll wager that you are going to lose that anemone. Ensure it comes out of the tank immediately once you are certain it has died. No easy answer as to "why", but 1.5 weeks suggests to me that the shock of the new tank was too much for it. It may even have been in trouble when you bought it.

Tangman
02-06-2005, 04:24 PM
you didn't mention your lighting , anemones need atleast 3 to 4 watts/gallon

dirtyreefer
02-06-2005, 05:02 PM
Your tank has barely cycled and you have all that livestock? I would check your ammonia/nitrite levels.

Bob I
02-06-2005, 05:40 PM