PDA

View Full Version : Skimmer Help.

doch
01-11-2005, 04:06 AM
Hello all....
So I'm new to this hobby, have within the last month or so set up a 90gal and am now looking into getting a skimmer going. Now in my travels I have seen the price of salesman (trusted source, btw) recomended skimmer without a pump to be about $400. When I look on E-bay I see the average price to be around the $100-ish range. Are these skimmers garbage? Am I going to waste my money buying one of this price range? Does anyone have any recommendations for a 'cheap' and good skimmer? The one that caught my eye on e-bay is called the TS-2000 Turbo Skimmer. Is anyone familiar with these? To me it looks the same as these expensive ones in the stores, but I don't know really what to look for. Any help is appreciated, thanks ahead of time.

G1GY
01-11-2005, 04:22 AM
Do a search on the Aquac Remora and Remora pro. Realy good bang for the buck. :biggrin:

mr_alberta
01-11-2005, 04:29 AM
Do you have a link to this skimmer? Who makes this skimmer? Take a gander over at the Buy/Sell section on this board. I believe a couple of people are selling some skimmers there.

doch
01-11-2005, 04:56 AM
http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=20758&item=4348828919&rd=1#ebayphotohosting

This is the ebay link. That's about all I can tell you about it though.

mr_alberta
01-11-2005, 05:11 AM
I personally don't think I would run that skimmer....

doch
01-11-2005, 05:13 AM
What is your reasoning? Like I said before, I don't know what makes a good or bad skimmer. Any tips would be appreciated.

mr_alberta
01-11-2005, 05:27 AM
Hi,

Sorry, I should have explained myself. A few things I don't like about the skimmer are: